Burnpoetry Turns 3

Posted: June 21, 2013 in Miscellaneous
Tags: , ,

It was on this date three years ago that I decided to try something outlandish.  Something that was both simultaneously out of my comfort zone and right in my cynical wheelhouse.  It would be a Molotov Cocktail of poetry, sports, pop culture and literary Haterade that would last for 3 full years and is still going strong.

I launched Burnpoetry with dreams of establishing internet dominance like a silverback gorilla in the wilds of the Congo.

In reality, I ended up pretty much just nerding out over sports, pop culture and anything I felt was worthy of a burn.  There have been tremendous highs, and even a few lows (*Author’s note: or as low as you can get when you have no deadlines, no subscriptions, and you don’t reap any financial benefits.) but through it all it has been one of the most fun and rewarding writing experiences of my life.

Thanks to all of you for reading.  Thanks to all of you who share the blog via Facebook, Twitter, and Myspace (*Author’s note: Myspace is still a thing, right?).

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: in the digital age, shares/likes/comments are currency so even though I’m not getting paid, your support makes me feel rich.

Please keep sharing.

Please keep reading.

Above all?  Please keep stopping by this crazy little blog and I promise you I will continue writing.

FIN

Comments
  1. Nick Baker says:

    Hatch,

    First, congrats on three years. I have enjoyed following and I hope you’ll continue and eventually make money at this. I’ll be honest, I don’t care for the pop culture references nor the sport talk, especially Husker nonsense, but you have kept my attention with your unique voice you inject into all that you write. Your sick sense of humor works well for me and you keep your stories moving well. Your word choice is strong. I especially like the fiction.

    Yesterday, I read “Ache”. Nice work, man. I just have a few issues with it. If Elliot was Dylan’s nemesis, it would strengthen the story to mention him before the death scene. That way, the reader gets to celebrate his death. Also, I was frustrated by the ending. Sure, Dylan escaped the violence, but we didn’t learn the cause of it all. I don’t know if you plan on making this into a novel, but as a short story it didn’t give me any closure. If you are gonna expand it, those anal swabs would be an ironic savior from a sticky situation.

    That’s all I’ve got for now. Keep it up. As a writer, you are better than most. It also seems like you are a much better person than I had initially given you credit for.

    Cheers!

    Nick

    P.S. Keep writing about your little one and the frustrations of being a new parent. That shit is gold.

Leave a Reply

